Desktop – Leaderboard

Home » Jensen appointed vice-chair of Trust

Posted: March 19, 2015

Jensen appointed vice-chair of Trust

Cranbrook resident Rick Jensen has been re-appointed to the Columbia Basin Trust Board of Directors and he has also been appointed as board vice-chair.

And Fairmont Hot Springs resident and Regional District of East Kootenay Electoral Area F Director Wendy Booth has been re-appointed to the board.

The Trust also noted March 19 that it is welcoming five new members to its Board of Directors and recognizes the contributions of the departing directors.

It also wishes to acknowledge the reappointment of three current directors.

The new directors are: Vickie Thomas from ʔaq̓am (two-year term); Larry Binks from Creston (two-year term); John Dooley from Nelson (three-year term); Loni Parker from Revelstoke (two-year term); Jeannette Townsend from Valemount (two-year term).

Also reappointed along with Booth and Jensen was Gord DeRosa from Trail (two-year term).

Greg Deck, Columbia Basin Trust Board Chair
Greg Deck, Columbia Basin Trust Board Chair

“We wish to welcome our new Board members and thank all departing members who have helped bring the Trust to our current position of strength,” said Greg Deck, Columbia Basin Trust Board Chair. “It’s not easy finding the right combination of skills and personal attributes that allows us effectively to serve residents and oversee our investments and delivery of benefits to our communities—and we’ve been lucky to benefit from such a team both in the past and moving forward.”

Remaining on the board with Deck, from Radium Hot Springs, are Laurie Page from Nakusp, Kim Deane from Rossland and Am Naqvi from Nelson.

Departing directors are: Cindy Gallinger from Elkford; Denise Birdstone from Grasmere; David Raven from Revelstoke; Andru McCracken from Valemount; and Paul Peterson from Burton.

The Trust’s 12-member board consists of qualified individuals appointed by the provincial government: six from among the nominees of the five regional districts and the Ktunaxa Nation Council and six others. All directors must be residents of the Basin.

The board meets throughout the year in communities around the Basin. The public is invited to attend in order to meet the directors and ask questions about the organization’s work in the Basin.

The next public component is on Tuesday, March 31, in Fairmont Hot Springs.

For more information about the Board, and to read highlights and minutes from Board meetings, visit

Columbia Basin Trust supports efforts to deliver social, economic and environmental benefits to the residents of the Columbia Basin. To learn more about the Trust’s programs and initiatives, visit or call 1-800-505-8998.

Above photo: Columbia Basin Trust’s Board. Back row (left to right): Rick Jensen, Kim Deane, Gord DeRosa, Larry Binks, Greg Deck. Front row (left to right): Am Naqvi, John Dooley, Wendy Booth, Vickie Thomas, Laurie Page, Loni Parker, Jeannette Townsend. Photo courtesy Columbia Basin Trust


Article Share