Home » School district candidates set

Posted: October 12, 2014

School district candidates set

Voters in the East Kootenay have a full slate of candidates from which to select the School Board of Trustees for School District No. 5 (Southeast Kootenay) and School District No. 6 (Rocky Mountain) during the Nov. 15 civic and school district elections.

SD5Eleven candidates filed nomination papers in School District No. 5 (SD5), including seven incumbents.

The incumbents are: Frank Lento (City of Fernie and Regional District of East Kootenay Electoral Area A; Bev Bellina (District of Sparwood/Area A) and Curtis Helgesen (District of Elkford/Area A); Trina Ayling (Cranbrook and Area C); Gail Brown (Cranbrook/Area C); Chris Johns (Cranbrook/Area C); and Patricia Whalen (Cranbrook/Area C).

Former SD5 trustee Chris Ellis is taking another shot at the school board for (Cranbrook/Area C) and first time candidates include: Jacqueline Blumhagen of Baynes Lake – RDEK Electoral Area B; Jeannette Selwood of Jaffray – RDEK Area B; and Doug McPhee (Cranbrook/Area C).

SD6Ten people filed nomination papers for the nine seats on the School District No. 6, including eight incumbents.

The incumbents are: Jane Fearing, Shannon Hood and Rhonda Smith (all in the Golden and Electoral Area A of the Columbia Shuswap Regional District); Betty Lou Barrett, Mac Campbell and Sandra Smaill (all in the Kimberley and Electoral Area E of the Regional District of East Kootenay); Amber Byklum of Canal Flats and Electoral Area F of the RDEK); and Rosemary Oaks of Radium Hot Springs and Electoral Area G of the RDEK.

Two new candidates have come forward. They are Denny Neider of Invermere and Cory Stanbury of Canal Flats/Area F.


Article Share