Home » Chamber AGM will have a vote for directors

Posted: March 14, 2018

Chamber AGM will have a vote for directors

For the first time in memory Chamber members will vote in directors

Wesley Rogers will serve as President of the Cranbrook Chamber of Commerce for 2018.

The Cranbrook Chamber of Commerce Annual General Meeting, slated for Wednesday, March 21, will see the chamber membership cast ballots to elect directors for the first time in memory.

“We have eight nominations for four, two-year term, director positions,” said chamber executive director David D. Hull.  “We have been working towards being able to present a slate of director candidates for the membership to select from since we changed the governance model and direction of the chamber some three years ago.

“The goal is to ensure that the board of directors is a reflection of the demographics of the chamber membership and not a homogenous group.  It is important that as a member-based organization the membership has a demonstrable voice in the leadership, and subsequently the direction, of their organization.”

The March 21 Chamber luncheon will encompass the Annual General Meeting and Election of Officers.  Each chamber member in attendance will be eligible to vote on the matters at hand including the election of officers.

Information and tickets are available HERE.

Chamber executive for 2018

Outgoing Chamber President Chris Botterill will now serve as Past President.

President – one year term – Wesley Rogers – Rella, Paolini & Rogers;

Vice President – one year term – Jason Fast – East Kootenay Community Credit Union;

Past President – one year term – Automatic Appointment – Chris Botterill – Genex Marketing;

Treasurer – one year term – David Stypula – Stypula Financial Group, CIBC Wood Gundy.

Up for election for director

Four to be elected – two year term ending March 31, 2020.

  • Doug Bradshaw – Kootenay Respiratory
  • Julie Godsave – JAG Resources
  • Bill Hughes – Independent Chamber Member
  • Bernie Kennedy – Core Fitness and Rivers Crossing
  • Rachel Lucas – Columbia Basin Trust
  • Sharrie Paulson – Hub Insurance
  • Sandra Van Steijn – St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino
  • Ryan Wilhelm – Alpine Toyota

Directors completing two year term – (Term ending March 31, 2019)

Ryan Gibbard – McElhanney Consulting Services Ltd.

Tracey Whiting – College of the Rockies

Frank Vanden Broek – Sun Life Financial

Christine Hoechsmann – The Bedroom Furniture Gallery

Cranbrook Chamber of Commerce

Article Share