Desktop – Leaderboard

Home » First Abbott Awards presented

Posted: May 29, 2018

First Abbott Awards presented

Local stage/theatre members, aficionados, volunteers and fans gathered at Key City Theatre on Sunday, May 27 for the inaugural Abbott Awards.

Named after local legend and Cranbrook Community Theatre (CCT) founder Bud Abbott, the Abbott Awards are designed to celebrate the dedication and hard work of everyone who brings community theatre to the East Kootenay.

On May 12, all CCT members received an email with their ballots to vote on the categories awarded as well as a vote for ‘Volunteer of the Year.’

Hosted by CCT and Key City Theatre the free admission evening featured sneak peaks of upcoming performances, a silent auction and a host of well-earned awards.

And the winners are:

Lifetime Achievement: Bud Abbott
Favourite Supporting Actress: Emily Bohmer – The Producers
Favourite Supporting Actor: David Booth – The Producers
Favourite Set Design: Kirsten Taylor – The Producers
Favourite Costumes: Joanne Wilkinson – The Producers
Favourite Poster: Sioban Staplin- The Producers
Favourite Newcomer: Nicole Jung – Plaza Suite
Volunteer of the Year: Kevin Higgins
Favourite Actress: Michelle McCue – A View From the Bridge
Favourite Actor: Alexander Gilmour – The Sunshine Boys
Favourite Director: Paul Kershaw – A View from the Bridge
Favourite Production: Producer Galen Olstead – The Producers

Lead image: Bud Abbott receives his Lifetime Achievement Award. Photo courtesy Key City Theatre

See more photos posted by Key City Theatre on May 28


Article Share