Desktop – Leaderboard

Home » Heidi Romich féted as Citizen of the Year

Posted: January 27, 2020

Heidi Romich féted as Citizen of the Year

Citizen of the Year Heidi Romich with Kootenay East MLA Tom Shypitka

Heidi Romich was féted as 2019 Cranbrook Citizen of the Year during a gala evening at the Heritage Inn and Conference Centre Jan. 24.

The owner of The Heidout Restaurant and Fisher Peak Brewing Company was recognized for a wide range of reasons, “backed by overwhelming support from many different areas of the business community,” as the Cranbrook Chamber of Commerce noted.

The long-time Cranbrook Rotary Club member has also been a stalwart Downtown Business Association volunteer and a key part of the College of the Rockies Culinary Arts program. As those gathered at the gala learned, Heidi has also been a rock and mentor for many city residents.

The evening featured guest speakers such as City of Cranbrook Councillor and business owner Mike Peabody, who submitted the nomination for Heidi as Citizen of the Year, along with former B.C. government cabinet minister and long-time Kootenay East MLA Bill Bennett (who is also President of Cranbrook Rotary), Cranbrook Tourism’s Kristy Jahn Smith, Heidout manager and executive chef Amanda Martz and Rusty Cox and Marlies Romich, with a touching and funny tribute to her mom.

Kootenay East MLA Tom Shypitka, City of Cranbrook Mayor Lee Pratt and Cranbrook Chamber President Jason Fast made presentations. D’Arcy Kennedy and Jason Wheeldon served as evening emcees while Barry Graham and Little Jazz Orchestra provided musical entertainment.

A tradition of the Citizen of the Year celebration involves former honour recipients gathering for a group photo. Pictured are, at back, left to right: Rick Jensen, Gordon Murphy, Garry Anderson, Jason Wheeldon, Frank Vanden Broek, Allan Davis. Front, left to right: Nella Rounsville, Ann Wavrecan, Heidi Romich, Karin Penner and Dorial Davis. Carrie Schafer/e-KNOW photo

Cranbrook’s Citizens of the Year

1973 – Veronica Main

1974 – Edna Gilmour

1975 – Rick Spooner

1976 – Joyce Metcalfe

1977 – Grace McNeil

1978 – Robert Sheffield

1979 – Alex Demchuk

1980 – Yvonne Skrepnechuk

1981 – Laura Proctor

1982 – Murray Wheaton

1983 – Mike Moore

1984 – Hank Mayberry

1985 – Sam Barrett

1986 – George Poulos

1987 – Maxine and Bud Caldwell

1988 – Don Rogers

1989 – Marlene and Stephen Hudock

1990 – Rick Jensen

1991 – David Stephanuk

1992 – Bud Abbott

1993 – Dusan Tadey

1994 – Garry Anderson

1995 – Marvin ‘Skip’ Fennessy

1996 – Dorothy, Gordon, Josephine and Nancy Van Ochten

1997 – Cheryl McNab

1998 – Wilf Molnar

1999 – Cathy and Mike Patterson

2000 – Gordon Murphy

2001 – Pamela Spiers

2002 – Paul Kershaw

2003 – Loree Duczek

2004 – Dorial and Allan Davis

2005 – Nella Rounsville

2006 – Frank Sandor

2007 – Gary Lancaster

2008 – Dr. Arnold Lowden

2009 – Rod Osiowy

2010 – Art Gruenig

2011 – Chris Ayling

2012 – Jason Wheeldon

2013 – Ken Bridge

2014 – Derek Kotschaga

2015 – Frank Vanden Broek

2016 – Karin Penner

2017 – Mike Adams

2018 – Ann and Jim Wavrecan

2019 – Heidi Romich

Lead image: Ann Wavrecan, left, 2018 co-recipient of Citizen of the Year presents Heidi Romich with the 2019 honour Jan. 24. Jim Wavrecan was unable to attend. Ian Cobb/e-KNOW photo


Article Share