Home » Performing August 3 – Summer Sounds

Posted: July 29, 2019

Performing August 3 – Summer Sounds

Ferdy Belland and Erin Quimby

The Summer Sounds / Dancing in the Park programs are coordinated and run by the Fisher Peak Performing Artists Society volunteers. These community events held at Rotary Park every Saturday in July and August, feature live regional performing artists and the occasional touring artist. There’s no admission and everyone is welcome!

August 3 featured performers

6 p.m. The Quimbys – The Quimbys are a roots-folk duo, with an affinity for cosmic Americana and ’80s New Wave (with plenty of Can-con to fill in the blanks).  Since their first ‘LOCALS’ show together in early 2000, they’ve run the musical gamut from jazz to traditional folk to contemporary indie rock. If it’s fun, they’ll give it a whirl. Featuring Ferdy Belland on guitar and vocals, and Erin Dalton on vocals, (very) occasional kazoo, and sass, The Quimbys favour outdoor gigs and small intimate venues. When not making sweet music together, you’ll find Ferdy swinging a hammer in between shows and playing bass for Canadian rocker BIF NAKED. Erin spends her days purveying whimsy at her indie bookshop, Huckleberry Books, in Cranbrook.

Anadil Belly Dance Troupe

7 p.m. Anadil Belly Dance Troupe –  An eye-appealing ethnic dance demonstration by a local group of women who came together in 2006 through a shared interest in the dance form. They are mostly self-taught, using videos and other forms of available instruction… feel free to join in! Let their shimmy and shake move you!

8 p.m. Split/Shift  – This Cranbrook based five-piece band (pictured above) performs classic rock, blues rock and their own brand of Kootenay Klassic Rock along with popular covers from artists such as Led Zeppelin, the Doors, Neil Young, Black Sabbath, Stevie Ray Vaughan and many more. Split/Shift was formed in 2008 as a three-piece blues/rock band but has since morphed into the powerhouse it is today! Band members include: Emilio Regina – lead vocals and harmonica, John Burgess – lead guitar and vocals, Mike Kaufman – rhythm guitar and vocals, Cub Lea – bass and vocals and Kalvin Klassen – drums and percussion.

Find more information on all performers and these programs.

Fisher Peak Performing Artists Society

Article Share