Desktop – Leaderboard

Home » Clovechok steps down as Caucus Whip, endorses Kevin Falcon

Posted: December 2, 2021

Clovechok steps down as Caucus Whip, endorses Kevin Falcon

Left to right: Greg Kyllo MLA Shuswap; Kevin Falcon, BC Liberal leadership candidate; Doug Clovechok MLA Columbia River-Revelstoke; Todd Stone MLA, Kamloops. Photo submitted

Columbia River-Revelstoke MLA Doug Clovechok announced today that he has stepped down from his role as Caucus Whip for the BC Liberals in order to endorse Kevin Falcon to be the next BC Liberal leader.

“We need a leader that has the knowledge, experience, and ability to unite us as a Party while taking the right steps to win new supporters,” said Clovechok. “Kevin will fight for rural B.C. — ensuring rural communities have strong economies and proper representation in the legislature.”

Clovechok highlighted Falcon’s ability to appeal to both voters in both rural and urban regions of the province as a core reason for his decision to endorse.

“In order to win the next election, our party needs to be a big tent, welcoming voters from a diverse set of backgrounds and regions,” continued Clovechok. “The only candidate who can achieve that and defeat the NDP in 2024 is Kevin Falcon.”

Falcon was grateful to receive Clovechok’s endorsement.

“I’m excited to have Doug’s support,” said Falcon. “He’s a hardworking MLA and will be an important member of our team as we move forward.”

Clovechok is the fourth BC Liberal MLA to endorse Falcon in the last week, following announcements from MLAs Coralee Oakes, Lorne Doerkson and Greg Kyllo.

Kootenay East MLA Tom Shypitka has endorsed Skeena MLA Ellis Ross as leader of the party.

Kevin Falcon previously served as Deputy Premier, Minister of Finance, Minister of Health, and Minister of Transportation.

Falcon has also received endorsements from BC Liberal MLAs Todd Stone, Mike Bernier, Mike Morris, Ian Paton, Trevor Halford, and Karin Kirkpatrick as well as former Surrey Mayor Dianne Watts, Fort St. John Mayor Lori Ackerman, and former Kootenay East MLA Bill Bennett.

The BC Liberal Party will vote for their new leader between February 3 to 5, 2022.

Lead image: Kevin Falcon has been through the region a couple of times in the past six months, including a visit to Cranbrook June 29. Ian Cobb/e-KNOW file photo


Article Share