Desktop – Leaderboard

Home » Elkford and CAO Helgesen nominated for FCM Awards

Posted: May 4, 2019

Elkford and CAO Helgesen nominated for FCM Awards

The Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM) recently announced that the District of Elkford is among five candidates for its 2019 Institutional Award, and that Curtis Helgesen (pictured above), district Chief Administrative Officer, is among four candidates for its Mike Badham Individual Award.

The nominations are a result of Elkford’s and Helgesen’s contributions to FCM’s international program, specifically the Sustainable and Inclusive Communities in Latin America (CISAL) Program. The Institutional Award is given to Canadian local governments that have demonstrated exceptional commitment and leadership in FCM’s international programs; and the Mike Badham Award is given to an individual whose contributions are above and beyond in terms of innovation, creativity, engagement and leadership.

The CISAL Program is a five-year initiative funded by Global Affairs of the Government of Canada and implemented by the FCM, designed to support local governments in Latin America in their efforts to manage the impacts and benefits of mining development and to promote sustainable economic growth for its citizens.

Throughout the program, Elkford has participated in seven missions to Colombia and Peru and has hosted Colombian and Peruvian delegations twice in Elkford, once in 2015 and subsequently in 2017.

The District of Elkford is grateful for the opportunity to participate at a national level and proud to contribute to the global community.

District of Elkford Mayor Dean McKerracher

“It has been a great honour, privilege and pleasure to collaborate with our Colombian and Peruvian friends on an initiative of this magnitude, developing and sharing strategies for sustainable development,” stated Mayor Dean McKerracher. Helgesen added, “the most rewarding component has been to witness the genuine passion and desire of our Colombian and Peruvian counterparts to learn; their growth throughout the process is a direct product of their willingness to embrace the Program so openly.”

The success of the program is a collective effort of District of Elkford council and staff, and the periodic participation of other regional local governments, the Regional District of East Kootenay, the Ktunaxa Nation Council, Teck, and several local community organizations.

Lastly, the District of Elkford extends congratulations to all candidates; it is a distinct honour to be recognized alongside a group of such deserving individuals and organizations.

The recipients of the awards will be announced at FCM’s Annual Conference in Quebec City, May 30 to June 2.

District of Elkford

Article Share