Home » Sparwood resident receives provincial honour

Posted: May 2, 2019

Sparwood resident receives provincial honour

The Community Award Recipients 2019

Yesterday at Government House in Victoria, 24 recipients of the annual BC Achievement Community Award were honoured for their exceptional community service.

The presentation was presided over by Her Honour Janet Austin, the Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia, and attended by friends and family of the awardees to recognize and celebrate their achievements.

Recipients came from around the province and included local resident, Katrin Taylor of Sparwood.

As founder and manager of the Elk Valley Thrift Shop, Katrin Taylor and her volunteer team have raised close to $400,000 dollars for local programs and charities in just five short years.

Following a philosophy of recycle, reduce and reuse, almost 70,000 tonnes of textile materials have been diverted from landfill, repurposed or sold thanks to Katrin’s leadership. Her hard work and determination have generated funds that support school programs, scholarships, clubs, food banks, other non-profits in the local community, outlined the BC Achievement Foundation.

An independent committee selects the recipients of the BC Achievement Community Award. The 2019 selection committee members are Mayor Lyn Hall of Prince George, Mayor Josie Osborne of Tofino and past recipients, Garry F. Benson, QC of Kelowna, Lolly Bennett of Vancouver and Kamal Dhillon of Surrey.

The BC Achievement Foundation is an independent foundation established and endowed by the province of B.C. to celebrate excellence in the arts, humanities, enterprise and community service.

Launched in 2003, the BC Achievement Community Award was the first initiative of the foundation, followed by the Carter Wosk Award in Applied Art and Design, BC’s National Award in Canadian Non-Fiction (2005-2018), the Fulmer Award in BC First Nations Art, and the BC Indigenous Business Award.

Read more about the other award winners

Lead image: The award is presented to Katrin Taylor by Her Honour Janet Austin, the Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia, left, and Robert Louie, board member of the BC Achievement Foundation, right. Photo submitted

BC Achievement Foundation

Article Share