Desktop – Leaderboard

Home » Reconciliation Awards recipients being honoured tonight

Posted: January 12, 2023

Reconciliation Awards recipients being honoured tonight

The 2021 and 2022 British Columbia Reconciliation Award recipients will be honoured in a ceremony at Government House tonight (Jan. 12), including members of the Ktunaxa Nation.

The event celebrates the recipients with a ceremony that reflects the rich culture and practices of Indigenous Peoples in British Columbia.

The B.C. Reconciliation Award is a partnership between the Office of the Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia and the BC Achievement Foundation. It recognizes individuals, groups and organizations that have demonstrated exceptional leadership, integrity, respect and commitment to furthering reconciliation or inspired others to continue reconciliation efforts.

Speakers at the event will include Lt. Gov. Janet Austin, Hereditary Chief Sophie Pierre, T’esóts’en Patrick Kelly, Premier David Eby and Kúkpi7 Rosanne Casimir. There will be a performance by the Lək̓ʷəŋən Traditional Dancers.

The recipients include:


* xaȼqanaǂ ʔitkiniǂ (Many Ways of Doing the Same Thing) Research Team (Ktunaxa Nation);

* Xele’milh-Doris Paul;

* Grand Chief Stewart Phillip;

* Corey Payette;

* Dawn Drummond;

* David Suzuki;

* Cpl. Christopher Voller;

* Carrier Sekani Family Services;

* Marine Plan Partnership for the North Pacific Coast.


* Kwuntiltunaat Kim Baird;

* T̓łaḵwagila Chief Bill Cranmer;

* Brendan Eshom;

* Atomic Cartoons in partnership with GBH;

* Tk’emlúps te Secwépemc and the City of Kamloops;

* DIVERSEcity – Surrey Local Immigration Partnership.

The B.C. Reconciliation Award draws inspiration from the work of Steven Point [Xwĕ lī qwĕl tĕl], 28th lieutenant governor of British Columbia, and a founder of the award. His hand-carved red cedar canoe, Shxwtitostel, currently on display at the B.C. Parliament Buildings, was created as a symbol of reconciliation, with the understanding that “we are all in the same canoe” and must “paddle together” to move forward.

The nomination period for the 2023 Awards will be open until Jan. 20. The selection committee will review nominations and announce the 2023 recipients in the spring.

The selection committee for the British Columbia Reconciliation Award includes:

* p̓i·q̓, Christopher Horsethief – Ktunaxa Nation;

* T’esóts’en, Patrick Kelly – Leq’á:mel Nation;

* Nicole McLaren – Métis Nation;

* Cloy-e-iis, Judith Sayers – Hupacasath Nation;

* T,lalisam, Kim van der Woerd – ‘Namgis Nation.

Members of the selection committee, along with Steven Point [Xwĕ lī qwĕl tĕl] and Sophie Pierre led in the creation and design of the B.C. Reconciliation Award, ensuring the award was founded on the principles of Indigenous culture and knowledge.

“It is a great honour to host and celebrate the 2021 and 2022 recipients of the British Columbia Reconciliation Award at the inaugural ceremony at Government House. As direct representative of the Crown in this province, I am deeply committed to strengthening the ever-evolving relationship between the Crown and Indigenous Peoples, and to advancing the critically important principles of reconciliation,” stated Janet Austin, Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia

“It is my hope that in the years and decades to come, the recipients of this award will inspire many more British Columbians on their own journeys of reconciliation. I am most grateful for their exemplary contributions and for sharing their stories here with us all tonight.”

Premier David Eby added: “With the B.C. Reconciliation Awards, we are celebrating the powerful work of people and organizations to advance reconciliation throughout B.C. Every day, through actions big and small, these leaders make our province a better, more inclusive place. This is our chance to thank them for showing us the path forward, one that we can – and will – walk together.”

Cloy-e-iis, Judith Sayers (Hupacasath Nation), BC Achievement Foundation board member said, “Reconciliation with Indigenous Peoples is about righting past wrongs. In order for it to be true reconciliation, Indigenous Peoples must define what reconciliation is and what is needed to move forward. Bridging the gap between the two worlds through the reconciliation efforts of both Indigenous and non-Indigenous peoples builds the relationships needed for the journey. By recognizing the truths of past wrongs and showcasing examples of how to make things right, others will be inspired to follow. In its third year, the British Columbia Reconciliation Award continues to celebrate innovative and empowering ways to embark on this journey, designed and decided by Indigenous Peoples, allowing them to thrive while making the world a better place. We look forward to celebrating the award recipients.”

The event will be streamed live here.

Submit a nomination for the 2023 Reconciliation Awards until Jan. 20.

Lead image: Ktunaxa Nation’s xaȼqanaǂ ʔitkiniǂ (Many Ways of Doing the Same Thing) Research Team will receive its 2021 honour this evening. File image 


Article Share