Home » 27 regional women nominated for awards

Posted: May 23, 2014

27 regional women nominated for awards

Karina Brino, CEO of the Mining Association of British Columbia
Karina Brino, CEO of the Mining Association of British Columbia

The third annual Influential East Kootenay Women in Business Awards (2014) are being held Friday, May 30 in Cranbrook.

Three influential women from the East Kootenay will receive awards, presented by event and awards host Kootenay Business Magazine (KBM).

“We salute the tremendous dedication and contribution women make in business throughout the Kootenays, and we believe this program is designed to help in a small way recognize their achievements,” KBM explains.

Marilyn Christensen
Marilyn Christensen

Guest speaker for the luncheon is Karina Brino, CEO of the Mining Association of British Columbia.

Denise Pallesen
Denise Pallesen

There will also be a panel discussion – Celebrating Success – with Marilyn Christensen (aka PT the Clown), Denise Pallesen, former owner of Nutters Bulk & Natural Foods, and Sandy Smith, Realtor – Royal LePage East Kootenay Realty taking part.

Sandy Smith
Sandy Smith

An extensive number of influential women have been nominated for the awards, including e-KNOW publisher and advertising manager Carrie Schafer.

East Kootenay Nominations:

Sarah Adamson – Fuze Food & Smoothie Bar, Invermere

Jill Barclay – Goldstar Cleaning Services, Fernie

Dr. Cassandra Boon – Fine + Well Health & Chiropractic, Kimberley/Cranbrook

Marilyn Christensen – PT the Clown, Cranbrook

Susan Clovechok – Columbia Valley Chamber of Commerce, Invermere

Dee Conklin – Palliser Printing, Invermere

Karley Denoon – Dr. Karley Denoon Naturopathic Medicine, Fernie

Wendy Franz – Imagine Ink, Creston

Donna Gallinger – Hryciuk Gallinger, Cranbrook

Christine Hoechsmann – The Bedroom, Cranbrook

Nancy Jenkinson – Panorama Mountain Village, Panorama

Kristen Knight – Vanity Room Salon & Day Spa, Cranbrook

Margaret Laidlaw – Cranbrook Society For Community Living, Cranbrook

Kristin McCauley – Crystal Springs Motel, Radium Hot Springs

Denise Pallesen – Nutters Bulk & Natural Foods, Cranbrook

Carrie Schafer, e-KNOW
Carrie Schafer, e-KNOW

Becky Pelkonen – ?a’qam Community Enterprises, Cranbrook

Libby Peter – SmartScape Landscaping, Kimberley

Heidi Romich – College of the Rockies, Cranbrook

Carrie Schafer – e-KNOW, Cranbrook

Liana Shaw – Investors Group, Kimberley

Janice Sommerfeld – Snapd, Cranbrook

Christy Sutherland – Nonstop Ski & Snowboard, Fernie

Petra Ware – Petra-Naturally, Cranbrook

Janice Wilson – Bighorn Helicopters, Cranbrook

Cindy Zirk – M & K Plumbing & Heating, Cranbrook

Jessie Blakley – Perrin Structure & Design, Windermere

Julie Winter – A Signs, Fernie

The awards luncheon at Days Inn runs from 11 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.

Lead image from Kootenay Business Magazine



Article Share