Home Ā» Local reappointed to Rural Advisory Council

Posted: March 31, 2016

Local reappointed to Rural Advisory Council

Fairmont Hot Springs resident Susan Clovechok was reappointed, along with 12 other members, to the province’s Rural Advisory Council today for another two years by Forests, Lands and Natural Resource Operations Minister Steve Thomson and Parliamentary Secretary Donna Barnett.

The mandate of the council is to provide input to government policy decisions to best support thriving rural communities, while keeping in mind government’s need to control spending and ensure an overall balanced budget for the province.

The council is chaired by Parliamentary Secretary Donna Barnett. Members meet on a quarterly basis.

“I want to thank the members of the Rural Advisory Council for their commitment and dedication to helping the Province support ruralĀ communities to thrive and prosper and for providing a strong voice for rural British Columbians,ā€ Barnett stated.

The 13 council members include elected officials and representatives from First Nations and economic development organizations from small rural communities throughout British Columbia.

The council provides advice on rural economic development, including rural access to capital and business development support for rural entrepreneurs and businesses.

The council also advises on rural community capacity building, including the Rural Dividend.

Clovechok (pictured above) is the executive director of the Columbia Valley Chamber of Commerce. With over 25 years in business, she has a wide range of experience in sales, customer service and quality as well as operational management. She wants rural communities to be economically diverse and sustainable, while providing residents the lifestyle that attracted them to their chosen community in the first place.

Re-joining Clovechok on the council are: Debra Arnott, Cache Creek; Geri Collins, Kamloops; Tom Hoffman, Williams Lake; Bill Holmberg, Houston; Chief Roy Jones Jr., Skidegate; Sue Kenny, Dawson Creek; Jonathan Lok, Port McNeill; Grace McGregor, Christina Lake; Chris Pieper, Armstrong; Sylvia Pranger, Agassiz; Gerry Thiessen, Vanderhoof; Eric (Rick) Thompson, McBride.


Article Share