Home » Colton Kroeker named 22nd Kootenay ICE captain

Posted: November 21, 2017

Colton Kroeker named 22nd Kootenay ICE captain

ICE face off against Portland Winterhawks tonight

Steve McCarthy, Mike Comrie, Jason Jaffray, Jarret Stoll, Colin Sinclair, Nigel Dawes, Adam Cracknell, Brayden McNabb, Sam Reinhart… well-known and beloved names of past players who Colton Kroeker joins on a list of Kootenay ICE captains.

Colton Kroeker

The Kootenay ICE announced yesterday that 1997-born forward Kroeker has been named the team’s new captain, making him the 22nd captain in franchise history.

Kroeker assumes the new role after former captain Cale Fleury was traded to the Regina Pats on November 13 in a deal that bolster’s the WHL club’s overall depth.

“Colton earned this opportunity, he plays the right way and is a great example for our younger players to follow,” said head coach James Patrick. “A strong two-way player that does things the right way and has the respect of the room, he will do a great job.”

Kroeker joined the ICE after being acquired from the Lethbridge Hurricanes in the middle of the 2016-17 season. During his time with the ICE, the fourth-year WHL forward has scored 19 goals and registered 51 points in 49 games.

The Surrey native has played in 204 regular season games, amassing 41 goals and 69 assists for 110 points. Kroeker has also played in 13 playoff games – five with Lethbridge and eight with Regina.

“There is a great history of ICE captains,” said Matt Cockell, President and General Manager. “Today is a day to celebrate our history, stay focused on the present and empower our group, with Colton’s leadership, to take us forward. The future of this group is very bright.”

Former ICE captains:

– John Kachur  1996-1997

– Steve McCarthy  1998-2000

– Mike Green  2000

– Mike Comrie  2000

– Dean Arsene  2000-2001

– Jason Jaffray  2001-2002

– Jarret Stoll  2001-2002

– Colin Sinclair  2002-2003

– Nigel Dawes  2003-2005

– Adam Cracknell  2005-2006

– Ryan Russell  2006-2007

– Steve DaSilva  2007-2008

– Andrew Bailey  2008-2009

– Dustin Sylvester  2009-2010

– Brayden McNabb  2010-2011

– Drew Czerwonka  2011-2012

– Joey Leach  2013

– Sam Reinhart  2013-2015

– Luke Philp  2015-2016

– Tanner Lishchynsky  2016

– Cale Fleury  2017

The next home game for the ICE is this evening, Tuesday, November 21 against the Portland Winterhawks. Puck drop is scheduled for 7 p.m.

It’s also one of five Rain Check Nights on the ICE schedule – which means any unused season or mini pack tickets can be used for this game. Tickets are still available and can be purchased online at ICEcountry.ca, at the ICE Gear Store at Western Financial Place or by calling 250-417-0322.

Lead image by Brad McLeod


Article Share