Home » Cranbrook author releasing third novel

Posted: September 23, 2019

Cranbrook author releasing third novel

Dave Butler’s award-winning Jenny Willson Mystery Series continues

Dave Butler

Toronto’s Dundurn Press will publish/release In Rhino We Trust, the third novel in author Dave Butler’s award-winning Jenny Willson mystery series, on September 30.

Dave lives in Cranbrook and is a professional forester and biologist, a writer and photographer, and a Fellow of the Royal Canadian Geographic Society. He was awarded the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee medal in 2012.

The first in Butler’s series of Jenny Willson novels – Full Curl – was short-listed for the Kobo Emerging Writers Award in the mystery category, and won the coveted Arthur Ellis Award (Crime Writers of Canada) for Best First Crime Novel in Canada in 2018. The second – No Place for Wolverines – was named in 2018 as one of the “best new environmental books” by the prestigious U.S.-based The Revelator website.

In Rhino We Trust sees protagonist Jenny Willson on a secondment to Namibia, where she becomes embroiled in a case of rhino poaching, a case with connections to international crime syndicates and implications that cause her to question why she left the Rockies.

A recent review of In Rhino We Trust by the American Librarian’s Association Booklist: “Butler’s writing keeps getting stronger, too, as he gives Jenny more depth and opens up more windows into her personal life… This is a very good entry in a series that one hopes will continue for many years and that remains an ideal read-alike for Nevada Barr and Paul Doiron fans.”

A Cranbrook launch is scheduled for October 4 at 7:30 p.m. at Huckleberry Books.

Lead image: A box of freshly printed copies of In Rhino We Trust arrives at author Dave Butler’s home. Dave Butler photo

e-KNOW


Article Share
Author: