Home » Local flavour to Canada Russia Series

Posted: October 19, 2019

Local flavour to Canada Russia Series

Cranbrook’s Bowen Byram will be a force on the blueline for Team WHL during the 2019 CIBC Canada Russia Series taking place on November 13 and 14 in Saskatoon and Prince Albert, Sask.

The Western Hockey League (WHL), in collaboration with the Canadian Hockey League and Hockey Canada, announced Oct. 16 the roster that will compete against Team Russia.

Returning to this year’s roster are seven members of Team WHL from the 2018 event, including three of the top-10 selections from the 2019 NHL Draft in Kirby Dach of the Saskatoon Blades (Chicago Blackhawks, Round 1 – Pick 3), Bowen Byram of the Vancouver Giants (Colorado Avalanche, 1-4), and Dylan Cozens of the Lethbridge Hurricanes (Buffalo Sabres, 1-7).

Returning forward Nolan Foote of the Kelowna Rockets (Tampa Bay Lightning, 1-27 – 2019) will add to the team’s strength at the forward position while a trio of 2018 NHL Draft selections, including Ty Smith of the Spokane Chiefs (New Jersey Devils, 1-17), Jett Woo of the Calgary Hitmen (Vancouver Canucks, 2-37), and Calen Addison of the Lethbridge Hurricanes (Pittsburgh Penguins, 2-53), will once again bolster the team’s blue line.

Team WHL will also feature Regina product Carson Focht of the Calgary Hitmen (Vancouver Canucks, 5-133 – 2019), Estevan product Cole Fonstad of the Everett Silvertips (Montreal Canadiens, 5-128 – 2018), Yorkton products Kaedan Korczak of the Kelowna Rockets (Vegas Golden Knights, 2-41 – 2019) and Nolan Maier of the Saskatoon Blades (NHL Draft Eligible, 2020).

Finally, a trio of hometown stars join Team WHL, including Saskatoon products Adam Beckman of the Spokane Chiefs (Minnesota Wild, 3-75 – 2019) and Connor Zary of the Kamloops Blazers (NHL Draft Eligible, 2020), along with Prince Albert product Braden Schneider of the Brandon Wheat Kings (NHL Draft Eligible, 2020).

Team WHL will face Team Russia in Game 5 of the 2019 CIBC Canada Russia Series in Saskatoon on Wednesday, November 13, before continuing on to Prince Albert for Game 6 to conclude the series on Thursday, November 14.

The Quebec Major Junior Hockey League will host Games 1 and 2, while the Ontario Hockey League will host Games 3 and 4. For the first time since 2013, the event will close with two games in the WHL.


Article Share