Home » EKVC names award recipients for 2020

Posted: August 7, 2020

EKVC names award recipients for 2020

Sarah Soderstrom

The East Kootenay Volleyball Club (EKVC) would like to congratulate Sarah Soderstrom, Aidan Peters and Dayne Elliot for being the recipients of EKVC’s John Kendal Award and Service Award, respectively.

The John Kendal Award is awarded for achieving a post-secondary recruitment and demonstration dedication to the support of EKVC, fellow athletes and the volleyball community.

Both Sarah and Aidan recently graduated from Mount Baker Secondary School (MBSS) and have been recruited to post-secondary colleges.

Sarah will be playing volleyball at the Lethbridge College, while Aidan has signed with the men’s volleyball program at the College of the Rockies.

The Service Award is awarded for exemplary leadership, sportsmanship and service to the support of EKVC, fellow athletes and the volleyball community.

Dayne Elliott played volleyball both at MBSS and with EKVC. He worked as a linesmen and then as a referee representing a commitment to volleyball both on and off the court. His interests include dirt biking, skiing and he would like to become a pilot in the future.

EKVC has been offering awards to athletes since 2012. EKVC welcomes athletes throughout the East Kootenay from Elkford, Sparwood, Fernie, Creston, Invermere, Golden, Kimberley, Cranbrook and region.

Established in 1997, the club provides a foundation of athletic excellence by promoting indoor and outdoor volleyball for all ages to successfully compete in Local, Regional, Provincial and National Volleyball events.

Lead image: Aidan Peters.  Photos submitted by EKVC


Article Share