Home » KIJHL teams select all eligible players in dispersal draft

Posted: September 5, 2020

KIJHL teams select all eligible players in dispersal draft

The Kootenay International Junior Hockey League (KIJHL) held a dispersal draft Friday (Sept. 4) in order for the league’s 17 active teams to select players from the 100 Mile House Wranglers, Beaver Valley Nitehawks and Spokane Braves.

Those three teams have opted to not compete in the 2020/21 KIJHL season.

Canadian players who completed the previous season with 100 Mile House, Beaver Valley or Spokane and have remaining junior hockey eligibility were available for selection. Also, players who competed at the junior A level in 2019/20, but whose KIJHL rights are held by one of those three clubs were eligible.

Due to the restrictions currently in place surrounding cross-border travel, American players were not eligible to be selected.

The draft order occurred in reverse order of the KIJHL’s 2019/20 regular season standings, with the Osoyoos Coyotes having the first overall selection.

The Columbia Valley Rockies, Fernie Ghostriders and Kimberley Dynamiters each selected three players in the draft.

See the full results below.


Article Share