Desktop – Leaderboard

Home » Local MP named to Conservative’s Shadow Cabinet

Posted: September 8, 2020

Local MP named to Conservative’s Shadow Cabinet

The Honourable Erin O’Toole, Leader of Canada’s Conservatives and of the Official Opposition, sept. 8 announced the Conservative Shadow Cabinet for the second session of the 43rd Parliament.
Among the 43 MPs added to the Shadow Cabinet is Kootenay – Columbia MP Rob Morrison as National Security Committee shadow minister.

“Today, I am proud to present the Conservative government in waiting that will defeat Justin Trudeau’s corrupt Liberal government in the next election,” O’Toole said. “In the coming weeks, we will be presenting a plan to put hardworking Canadians first, lead our nation out of this crisis and rebuild our great country.”

“I am honoured to have been asked to serve in the Shadow Cabinet for the Official Opposition in the National Security environment,” said Morrison. “Keeping Canadians safe is a top priority and I look forward to engaging with senior officials in the Canadian security community who have been charged with keeping Canadians safe.”

Morrison has served as a Member of Parliament since 2019 and was elected for his first term this past October. Prior to being elected, he served in various leadership roles, including as Director General with the Treasury Board Secretariat where he was responsible for an information-sharing environment with all law enforcement agencies and foreign governments. He also served as a diplomat with the Department of Foreign Affairs where he was responsible for numerous countries in Central/Southwest Asia and the Middle East, and engaged firsthand with Senior Foreign Government Officials as well as Canadians in foreign countries representing the voice of Canada.

Also added to the Shadow Cabinet is recent party leader Hon. Andrew Scheer (Regina – Qu’Appelle, Saskatchewan), who is Shadow Minister for Infrastructure and Communities.

O’Toole also named his Conservative House of Commons Leadership Team:

Deputy Leader: Hon. Candice Bergen (Portage – Lisgar, Manitoba);

Quebec Political Lieutenant: Richard Martel (Chicoutimi – Le Fjord, Quebec);

House Leader of the Official Opposition: Gérard Deltell (Louis-Saint-Laurent, Quebec);

Chief Opposition Whip: Blake Richards (Banff – Airdrie, Alberta);

Deputy House Leader of the Official Opposition: Karen Vecchio (Elgin – Middlesex – London, Ontario);

Deputy Opposition Whip: Alex Ruff (Bruce – Grey – Owen Sound, Ontario);

Caucus-Party Liaison: Hon. Tim Uppal (Edmonton Mill Woods, Alberta);

Question Period Coordinator: Eric Duncan (Stormont – Dundas – South Glengarry, Ontario);

National Caucus Chair: Tom Kmiec (Calgary Shepard, Alberta).

Lead image: Newly named Deputy Leader Hon. Candice Bergen, right, was in Cranbrook July 20, visiting with MP Rob Morrison and local media. e-KNOW file photo


Article Share