Desktop – Leaderboard

Home » Area A gives $20,000 to Beneath the Surface campaign

Posted: September 14, 2020

Area A gives $20,000 to Beneath the Surface campaign

The East Kootenay Foundation for Health’s (EKFH) Beneath the Surface campaign just got a significant boost with a $20,000 grant from the Regional District of East Kootenay (RDEK) Electoral Area A Discretionary Grant in Aid account.

The campaign’s goal is to raise $300,000 to bring a new ultrasound service to the Elk Valley Hospital, including a state-of-the-art ultrasound machine, renovations to the room, and all of the accessories to run the service.

“Currently residents of the Elk Valley have to travel to Cranbrook or Alberta to get an ultrasound done, and it goes without saying that having an at-home option will not only make it faster and more convenient for Elk Valley residents needing an ultrasound, it will also make it much safer, particularly during the winter months,” explained Electoral Area A Director Mike Sosnowski. “Aside from contributing to such an important campaign in our community, I am excited to announce that this donation will also lead to a greater fundraising total as Teck has agreed to match up to $50,000 for all business and community donations made prior to September 30th, 2020.” The RDEK’s contribution will bring the community and business donations to the $50,000 mark.

Sosnowski was joined by members of his Electoral Area Advisory Commission as he officially presented the EKFH’s Executive Director, Brenna Baker, with the grant.

Lead image:  Electoral Area A Director Mike Sosnowski and members of his Electoral Area A Advisory Commission present East Kootenay Foundation for Health Executive Director Brenna Baker with a $20,000 donation to the EKFH Below the Surface Campaign. From left to right: Joe Caravetta (Electoral Area A Advisory Commission), Area A Director Mike Sosnowski (RDEK), Executive Director Brenna Baker (East Kootenay Foundation for Health), Karen Alexander (Electoral Area A Advisory Commission), Dan Savage (Electoral Area A Advisory Commission. Photo submitted


Article Share