Desktop – Leaderboard

Home » Sparwood’s Niki Sharma named B.C.’s Attorney General

Posted: December 8, 2022

Sparwood’s Niki Sharma named B.C.’s Attorney General

Premier David Eby Dec. 7 appointed Sparwood born and raised Niki Sharma as Attorney General of British Columbia, part of his new cabinet announcement.

Rose and Pal Sharma’s daughter moved to East Vancouver 15 years ago and was elected MLA for Vancouver–Hastings in 2020.

Sharma is a lawyer whose practice focused on representing Indigenous people, including residential school survivors. She has worked throughout B.C. as an advocate on climate policy and reconciliation. She has also been recognized for her work on combatting racism.

She was elected to the Board of Vancity Credit Union, where she served as Vice-Chair and also served as Chair of the Vancouver Board of Parks and Recreation.

In 2017, Sharma, A mother of two, worked as a Senior Ministerial Assistant helping to deliver more childcare spaces for B.C. families.

Nelson-Creston MLA Brittny Anderson

There is another southeast B.C. tie to Eby’s cabinet/Parliamentary secretaries, with Nelson-Creston MLA Brittny Anderson named Parliamentary Secretary for Tourism and Premier’s Special Advisor on Youth.

“British Columbia is a wonderful place to live, but people are looking for action on the issues facing them and their families,” Premier Eby said after naming his new cabinet. “If the pandemic taught us anything, it’s that we can’t solve these problems alone. We need to solve them together. My team of determined colleagues will use a wealth and variety of experiences to continue the good work we’ve started and go further to deliver results people can see and feel in their communities.”

The new cabinet includes 23 ministers and four ministers of state.

The cabinet is as follows:

* Premier: David Eby

* Agriculture and Food: Pam Alexis

* Attorney General: Niki Sharma

* Children and Family Development: Mitzi Dean

* Citizens’ Services: Lisa Beare

* Education and Child Care: Rachna Singh
* Minister of State for Child Care: Grace Lore

* Emergency Management and Climate Readiness: Bowinn Ma

* Energy, Mines and Low Carbon Innovation: Josie Osborne

* Environment and Climate Change Strategy: George Heyman

* Finance (includes Columbia River Treaty): Katrine Conroy

* Forests, and Minister Responsible for Consular Corps: Bruce Ralston

* Health, and Minister Responsible for Francophone Affairs: Adrian Dix

* Housing, and Government House Leader: Ravi Kahlon

* Indigenous Relations and Reconciliation: Murray Rankin

* Jobs, Economic Development and Innovation: Brenda Bailey
* Minister of State for Trade: Jagrup Brar

* Labour: Harry Bains

* Mental Health and Addictions: Jennifer Whiteside

* Municipal Affairs: Anne Kang

* Post-Secondary Education and Future Skills (includes immigration/foreign credentials): Selina Robinson
* Minister of State for Workforce Development: Andrew Mercier

* Public Safety and Solicitor General (ICBC), and Deputy Premier: Mike Farnworth

* Social Development and Poverty Reduction: Sheila Malcolmson

* Tourism, Arts, Culture and Sport: Lana Popham

* Transportation and Infrastructure (BC Transit and Translink): Rob Fleming
* Minister of State for Infrastructure and Transit: Dan Coulter

* Water, Land and Resource Stewardship (Fisheries): Nathan Cullen

The following is a list of new parliamentary secretaries.

* Parliamentary Secretary for Anti-Racism Initiatives: Mable Elmore

* Parliamentary Secretary for Emergency Preparedness: Jennifer Rice

* Parliamentary Secretary for Sustainable Economy: Adam Walker

* Parliamentary Secretary for Environment: Aman Singh

* Parliamentary Secretary for Gender Equity: Kelli Paddon

* Parliamentary Secretary for Forests: Doug Routley

* Parliamentary Secretary for Seniors’ Services and Long-Term Care: Harwinder Sandhu

* Parliamentary Secretary for Rural Development: Roly Russell

* Parliamentary Secretary for Labour: Janet Routledge

* Parliamentary Secretary for Accessibility: Susie Chant

* Parliamentary Secretary for Community Development and Non-profits: Megan Dykeman

* Parliamentary Secretary for Arts and Film: Bob D’Eith

* Parliamentary Secretary for Tourism and Premier’s Special Advisor on Youth: Brittny Anderson

* Parliamentary Secretary for Fisheries and Aquaculture: Kelly Greene.


Article Share