Desktop – Leaderboard

Home » New Kimberley leadership declared official

Posted: October 20, 2022

New Kimberley leadership declared official

The City of Kimberley’s elected leadership structure for the next four years was officially declared yesterday.

Maryse Leroux, City of Kimberley Chief Election Officer, Oct. 19 declared elected the following candidates, who received the highest number of valid votes for the office of councillor during the Oct. 15 general election.

Sue Cairns, Jason McBain, Sandra Roberts, Steven Royer, Woody Maguire and Kevin Dunneback will join acclaimed Mayor Don McCormick as the city’s council.

McBain and Roberts were incumbents.

Additionally, Leroux also declared Darryl Oakley, Ronald McRae and Betty Lou Barrett received the highest number of valid votes for the office of school trustee with School District No. 6 – Rocky Mountain Trustee Electoral Area 2.

Kimberley voters also faced an assent vote in the election and voted overwhelmingly in support of the question: “Are you in favour of city council adopting the City of Kimberley Wastewater Treatment Plant Loan Authorization Bylaw No. 2703, 2022, which authorizes the City of Kimberley to borrow up to $35 million dollars to be repaid over a period not to exceed 30 years in order to finance the costs of constructing a wastewater treatment facility and associated infrastructure?”

A total of 1,545 votes were cast for ‘yes’ and 259 were cast for no.


Article Share