Desktop – Leaderboard

Home » Nitros cede KIJHL crown to Wranglers

Posted: April 1, 2016

Nitros cede KIJHL crown to Wranglers

The Kimberley Dynamiters have fallen short in their bid to repeat as Kootenay International Junior Hockey League (KIJHL) champions.

Kimberley Dynamiters LogoLast night, before 760 fans in the South Cariboo Rec Centre, the 100 Mile House Wranglers skated to a hard-fought 2-1 game five victory to wrest the crown from the Nitros, the 2014/15 champs.

Brady Ward scored the game and series winning goal, giving the Wranglers the victory and their first KIJHL championship in just their third season in the league.

The Nitros pounded 41 shots on Wrangler netminder Zane Steeves who only allowed a second period tally by Eric Buckley, assisted by Jared Marchi and Sawyer Hunt, to secure the four to one series victory.

The Wranglers will represent the KIJHL in the up-coming Cyclone Taylor Cup Provincial Championship.


Article Share