Desktop – Leaderboard

Home » Kootenays flooding eligible for disaster financial assistance

Posted: June 24, 2013

Kootenays flooding eligible for disaster financial assistance

Municipalities and regional districts in the Kootenays will be breathing a bit easier this afternoon after Emergency Management BC (EMBC) announced areas impacted by overland flooding between June 19 and 21 are eligible for disaster financial assistance.

“Those impacted by the following recent disaster or emergency
event(s) may be eligible to apply for disaster financial assistance,” noted the EMBC earlier today.

When British Columbia has declared an event eligible for Disaster Financial Assistance (DFA), the DFA program can provide financial assistance to restore uninsurable private property and/or public infrastructure damaged in the disaster. Recommendations for DFA are made to Emergency Management BC by local authorities. Citizens are directed to contact their local authority if they have been impacted by a disaster or emergency event.

To be eligible for assistance, the damage must be from an event that is uninsurable including overland flooding and groundwater seepage. Insurable damages, such as sewer or sump pit back-up, water entry from above ground including roofs, windows or other areas of the building that are not at ground level, are not eligible for DFA. Snow load, wind, fire and earthquake damage are also insurable and therefore not eligible for assistance.

Damages from certain landslides may be eligible, provided it can be shown that the landslide is the direct result of heavy rainfall or other sudden catastrophic event, and not caused by pre-existing slope instability.

Read Summary of DFA Program [PDF] for a summary of what applicants should be aware of before applying for assistance.

The following areas are eligible for assistance from overland flooding:

Regional District East Kootenay

Village of Canal Flats

City of Cranbrook

District of Elkford

City of Fernie

District of Invermere

City of Kimberley

Village of Radium Hot Springs

District of Sparwood

St. Mary’s Band

Columbia Shuswap Regional District 
– Electoral Area ‘A’

Town of Golden

Regional District Central Kootenay

Town of Creston

City of Castlegar

Village of Kaslo

Village of Nakusp

City of Nelson

Village of New Denver

Village of Salmo

Village of Silverton

Village of Slocan

There is a 90-day deadline to file applications, ending Sept. 22.

Application Forms and General Information:

General Public / Private Sector
 (Home Owner, Residential Tenant, Small Business Owner, Farm Owner, Charitable Organization)

Applying for Financial Help After a Disaster [Quick Factsheet – PDF]

Disaster Financial Assistance Guidelines [PDF]

Application Form – Apply for Disaster Financial Assistance [DOC]

Process [PDF]

Compensation and DFA Regulation (under the Emergency Program Act)

Clean-up Information

One Step at a Time – A Guide to Disaster Recovery

English [PDF]

Punjabi [PDF]

Chinese [PDF]

Cleaning Up After a Flood

English [PDF]

Punjabi [PDF]

Chinese [PDF]

Local Government

Process [PDF]

Application Form [DOC]

Compensation and DFA Regulation (refer to Part 3 and Schedule 5 of the Compensation and DFA Regulation)

Financial Assistance Guide for Local Authorities and First Nations [PDF]

Recovery Plan Description [PDF]

Recovery Plan [XLS]

Recovery Claim Submission [XLS]


Article Share