Home » Peyton Krebs Kootenay ICE’s 23rd captain

Posted: December 6, 2018

Peyton Krebs Kootenay ICE’s 23rd captain

The Kootenay ICE announced today that 2001-born forward Peyton Krebs has been named the team’s new captain and the 23rd captain in franchise history.

With Thursday’s announcement, Krebs is the youngest current captain in the Western Hockey League.

The Okotoks, Alberta native played his first career WHL game on November 16, 2016. Since then, he has played in 101 WHL regular season games, collecting 29 goals and 63 assists for 92 points. As of Thursday, Krebs is tied for the team lead in goals and has the outright lead in assists and points.

James Patrick

“Peyton’s work ethic on and off the ice combined with the respect he has earned from the coaching staff and his teammates made it clear that he is ready for this responsibility,” said head coach James Patrick. “We are a young group going through a learning process and Peyton is the right person to lead us moving forward. Peyton sets a high standard each and every day and is someone the rest of our young core will continue to learn from.”

Patrick added, “The future of this group and what they can accomplish together is very exciting; Peyton is the right person to lead the way.”

During the 2017-18 season, Krebs finished first in the WHL in points among rookies with 54. He was fourth on the team in scoring as a 16-year-old.

Over the past year, Krebs has represented Canada at the World Under-17 Hockey Challenge and at the Hlinka Gretzky Cup. As a member of Team Canada Red, Krebs earned a silver medal at the U-17’s in 2017. Less than one year later, he played a pivotal role in Team Canada winning gold at the Hlinka Gretzky Cup.

During that tournament, Krebs collected two goals and five points in five tournament games, including helping set up the overtime winner against the United States in the semi-finals.

“When we started the rebuilding process last season, we knew we would need to be patient, focus on building a young nucleus that could grow together and provide those players with opportunity to develop,” said Matt Cockell, President and General Manager. “We are committed to our plan and it is the right time in that process for our young core, with Peyton’s leadership, to elevate their level of responsibility.”

Cockell added, “There is no better person to lead the team moving forward than Peyton Krebs.”

Here is a list of former ICE captains:

John Kachur    1996-1997

Steve McCarthy    1998-2000

Mike Green    2000

Mike Comrie    2000

Dean Arsene    2000-2001

Jason Jaffray    2001-2002

Jarret Stoll    2001-2002

Colin Sinclair    2002-2003

Nigel Dawes    2003-2005

Adam Cracknell    2005-2006

Ryan Russell    2006-2007

Steve DaSilva    2007-2008

Andrew Bailey    2008-2009

Dustin Sylvester    2009-2010

Brayden McNabb    2010-2011

Drew Czerwonka    2011-2012

Joey Leach    2013

Sam Reinhart    2013-2015

Luke Philp    2015-2016

Tanner Lishchynsky    2016

Cale Fleury    2017

Colton Kroeker    2018

The next home game for the ICE is against the Kelowna Rockets on Tuesday, December 11.


Article Share