Home » Incumbents appear headed back to Victoria

Posted: October 25, 2020

Incumbents appear headed back to Victoria

The East Kootenay’s two B.C. Liberal Party incumbent candidates appear to be heading back to Victoria following the Oct. 24 provincial election.

According to Elections BC preliminary figures from advance and general voting, Kootenay East MLA Tom Shypitka will begin a second term based on 8,270 votes (59.71%), which was 4,100 more votes than BC NDP candidate Wayne Stetski (4,170 votes/30.11%) and Green Party candidate Kerri Wall (1,410 votes/10.18%).

Columbia River-Revelstoke incumbent Doug Clovechok, BC Liberal Party, also appears to be re-elected on the strength of 5,770 votes (48.62%), compared to BC NDP’s Nicole Cherlet, who received 4,551 votes (38.35%), with Green Party candidate Samson Boyer getting 1,546 votes, good for 13.03% of votes cast.

Nearby Nelson-Creston appears to have a new MLA with the same party. BC NDP’s Brittny Anderson captured 5,377 votes, for 39.86% of the vote, ahead of Nicole Charlwood of the BC Green Party, who had 4,443 votes (32.94%) and Tanya Finley of the BC Liberals (3,335 votes/24.72%). Previous MLA Michelle Mungall did to run again.

All results must be considered pre-liminary with mail-in votes still to be tabulated.

In total province-wide, 670,033 vote-by-mail packages were issued to voters.

In Kootenay East, from the 32,135 registered voters, 3,170 vote-by-mail packages were issued.

Columbia River-Revelstoke has 26,166 registered voters with 2,909 voter-by-mail packages sent out.

It is estimated that the mail-in vote tally won’t be complete for up to 13 days after the election.

2020 Provincial General Election Preliminary Voting Results


Article Share