Desktop – Leaderboard

Home » Kootenays to be showcased at Niagara Falls

Posted: May 23, 2014

Kootenays to be showcased at Niagara Falls

Columbia Power has teamed up with the Regional Districts of Kootenay Boundary, Central Kootenay and East Kootenay to showcase the Kootenays to Canada at the Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM) annual conference and trade show.

The FCM’s annual conference and trade show is the largest annual gathering of senior municipal officials from across Canada. This year, more than 1,800 delegates will gather in Niagara Falls, Ontario May 30 – June 2 for the 77th annual event.

“We are so pleased to be a part of the team taking the Welcome to Kootenay Country display to this Canadian conference,” says Audrey Repin, Director of Stakeholder and External Relations for Columbia Power Corporation. “In the past, the booth has received recognition for being the most popular collaborative display of various communities – a true reflection of the Kootenays.”

The Welcome to Kootenay Country booth display showcases the Kootenays and individual communities by highlighting the wide variety of recreation, accommodation, and tourism attractions that our area has to offer.

Representatives from local communities take turns participating at the booth, providing information on the region and highlighting our distinct piece of the country.

“Local government leaders are champions and story tellers for the regions in which they live. It is great to see the regional districts from the Kootenays working together to promote their communities at the meeting of the Federation of Canadian Municipalities in Niagara Falls,” says Rhona Martin, President of the Union of British Columbia Municipalities.

Columbia Power is a Crown corporation wholly owned and controlled by the Province of British Columbia. Columbia Power’s mandate is to manage assets and undertake power project investments as the agent of the province.

Above photo: Representatives showcasing the Welcome to Kootenay Country booth at the 2013 Federation of Canadian Municipalities Conference. Left to right:  Ann Henderson, RDCK Municipality of Salmo; Jane Walter, RDEK Electoral Area E; John Kettle, RDCK Chair; Audrey Repin, Columbia Power; Jess Clark, Partner; Hans Cunningham, RDCK Area G; Mayor Wayne Stetski, RDEK, City of Cranbrook, Robert Cacchioni, City of Trail.

Columbia Power

Article Share