Home » School district boards finalized

Posted: November 16, 2014

School district boards finalized

School District No. 5 (SD5) and School District No. 6 (SD6) school board of trustees are set for the next four years following the Nov. 15 civic election.

Joining acclaimed trustees Frank Lento (City of Fernie, RDEK Area A), Bev Bellina (District of Sparwood, Area A) and Curtis Helgesen (District of Elkford, Area A) are returning trustees Patricia Whalen (Cranbrook, Area C), Chris Johns (Cranbrook, Area C), Gail Brown (Cranbrook, Area C) and Trina Ayling (Cranbrook, Area C).

Newly elected are Jacqueline Blumhagen (RDEK Area B) and Doug McPhee (Cranbrook, Area C).

Whalen received the most votes of Southeast Kootenay trustee candidates with 3,583.

In the Rocky Mountain School District (SD6), only one trustee had to wage an election campaign.

Amber Byklum’s 482 votes in Canal Flats/Area F was enough to defeat Cory Stanbury (289 votes).

Acclaimed are: Rhonda Smith, Shannon Hood and Jane Fearing of Golden, Columbia Shuswap Regional District Electoral Area A; Betty-Lou Barrett, Sandra Smaill and Mac Campbell of Kimberley, RDEK Electoral Area E; Denny Neider, District of Invermere; and Rosemary Oaks, Radium Hot Springs, Electoral Area G.


Article Share