Desktop – Leaderboard

Home » Over 350 years of service recognized

Posted: March 30, 2019

Over 350 years of service recognized

The Columbia Valley Rural Fire & Rescue Service (CVRFS) hosted its annual appreciation banquet Wednesday night and presented a number of service awards.

“It was a special evening, not only because we were able to honour and thank all of the men and women who give of their time to protect our communities, but also to recognize those members who have reached service milestones,” said CVRFS Fire Chief Jim Miller. “When you add up the years of service just for those people receiving awards, it accounted for over 350 years of selflessness and volunteerism. That is a staggering number.”

Members were recognized for five, 10, 15, 20 and 25 years of service to the Edgewater, Panorama, Windermere and Fairmont Fire Departments.

The longest-standing member to be recognized was Murray Kubian who received a standing ovation as he was presented with a special plaque in honour of his 36 years of service.

“Murray is retiring this year and we will certainly miss his experience and influence. He is an expert on our pumps and role model firefighter. From day one he has been a dependable, dedicated member and we wish him and his wife the very best,” added Miller.

The banquet was held at Copper Point Resort and brought all four departments together for one evening of celebration.

“While we recognize the dedication of our firefighters, we also want to acknowledge and thank their spouses and families,” added Miller. “Emergencies can happen at any time, and their families are often impacted when our members head out on a call. It is important for them to know how grateful we are to them and it was great to be able to see so many of them join us for the banquet this year.”

Lead image: Several members of the four Columbia Valley Rural Fire & Rescue Service fire departments were recognized with milestone service awards during an annual appreciation banquet March 27. Pictured left to right: Back row: Kyle Flynn, Jason Smith, Nathan MaCabe, Drew Sinclair, George Porteous, Michelle Porteous, Jay Wilisky, Wendy Rockafellow, Ken Becker, Heinz Meyer, Bram Rossman, Spencer Cotie, Jon Tames, Keith Andestad, Ellegra Newill. Front row: Eric Falkenberg, Scott MacDonald, Murray Kubian, Jim Miller, Dave McCarthy. Photos courtesy RDEK

The Sinclair family has three generations of firefighters on the Windermere Fire Department. Doug Sinclair, his son Drew Sinclair (Deputy Chief) and Drew’s son Alex Sinclair. How cool is that?


Article Share