Desktop – Leaderboard

Home » Chamber hands out annual excellence awards

Posted: April 15, 2018

Chamber hands out annual excellence awards

The 27th annual Cranbrook Chamber of Commerce Business Excellence Awards culminated with a gala event Saturday at the St. Eugene Golf Resort and Casino on Saturday, April 14.

Ninety nominees were up for awards in 13 categories.

“The nominees were interviewed as part of the judging process leading up to the award recipients being selected,” said Chamber executive director David D. Hull.  “Without exception, every judging panel said their decision was very difficult.  That speaks volumes for the excellence within our business community.”

The Pavilion was once again packed for the awards evening, with Darin Welch providing music and B-104/The Drive’s Riley Wilcox and Derek Kortschaga serving as the evening’s hosts.

The following awards categories and recipients are:

Hospitality Excellence

Sponsored by Pacific Coastal Airlines

Elizabeth Lake Lodge

Elizabeth Lake Lodge’s George and Rachel Freitag with Pacific Coastal Airlines’ Janelle Hynes.


Non Profit Organization of the Year

Sponsored by Columbia Basin Trust

Cranbrook Farmer’s Market

Terry Bedwell and Livia Lara of Cranbrook Farmers Market with Rachel Lucas of Columbia Basin Trust.


Accredited Professional Services Excellence

Sponsored by Jim Pattison Broadcast Group – B104 & The Drive

The Hearing Loss Clinic

B104/The Drive’s Matt Van Boeyen with The Hearing Loss Clinic’s Crystal Thouret, Gerry Rhodes, Melissa Hazen and Becky Camps.


Retailer Excellence

Sponsored by Business Development Bank of Canada

The Paw Shop

Stephanie McGregor of The Paw Shop with Michelle Kleindienst of Business Development Bank of Canada.


Business to Business Excellence

Sponsored by Koocanusa Publications

Cranbrook Pest Control

Cranbrook Pest Control’s Connor Murphy, right, with Koocanusa Publications’ Murray Shellborn.


Manufacturing & Production Excellence

Sponsored by Rocky Mountain Diesel

Cranbrook Interior Woodwork

Blair Cook of Cranbrook Interior Woodwork with Chris Thom of Rocky Mountain Diesel Ltd.


New Business of the Year

Sponsored by Community Futures East Kootenay

Kootenay Computer

Kootenay Computer’s Sebastiaan van der Horst with Community Futures East Kootenay’s Janice Alpine.


Customer Service Excellence

Sponsored by New Dawn Developments

The Heidout Restaurant & Brewhouse

The Heidout and Fisher Peak Brewing Co’s Rusty Cox, Heidi Romich and Jordan Aasland.


Tourism Excellence         

Sponsored by Pacific Coastal Airlines

Cranbrook History Centre

Cranbrook History Centre’s Don Kirk, Maddie Wallace, Logan Morgan, Roger Brown, Gloria Davison, Kenny Jewsbury and Tammy Morgan with Pacific Coastal’s Janelle Hynes.


Business of the Year One to 15 Employees

Sponsored by Cranbrook Downtown Business Association

Canadian Rockies Landscape

Canadian Rockies Landscape’s Darren and Jennifer Krotz, with DBA representative Joey Hoechsmann.


Business of the Year 16+ Employees

Sponsored by St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino

Home Hardware Building Centre  

Home Hardware’s Martin Torgerson with St. Eugene’s Sandra Van Steijn.


Young Entrepreneur of the Year

Sponsored by College of the Rockies

Jesse Roberts – Arby’s Cranbrook & The Firehall Kitchen & Tap

Arby’s and Firehouse Bar & Grill’s Jesse Roberts with College of the Rockies’ David Walls.


Business Person of the Year

Sponsored by Banking Association of Cranbrook

Barry Zwueste – CEO St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino

Sandra Van Steijn accepted St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino’s GM Barry Zwueste’s award from Banking Association of Cranbrook’s Ashley Wyatt.
Chamber President Wes Rogers.
Sam Steele Sweetheart and Princess Abbey McWhirter and Jazmine Beaulac added regal style to the evening.

Photos by Carrie Schafer and Ian Cobb/e-KNOW

Article Share