Home » Locals heading to provincial curling championships

Posted: February 10, 2020

Locals heading to provincial curling championships

Two (mostly) East Kootenay teams are heading to the upcoming 2020 Senior Curling Championships and BC Masters Curling Championships.

The 2020 BC Senior Curling Championships, featuring the top eight 50+ men’s teams, including Team Buchy from Kimberley, Castlegar and Sparwood and top seven 50+ women’s teams in B.C., will go ahead at Vernon Curling Club from Feb. 18-23.

Team Buchy features: Skip Tom Buchy; Third Deane Horning; Second Dave Toffolo and Lead Darren Will.

The winning teams will travel to the Everest Canadian Seniors from Mar. 16-22 at the Portage Curling Club in Portage la Prairie, Man.

The 2020 Connect Hearing BC Masters Curling Championships, which will feature the top eight 60+ men’s teams, including Elkford’s Team McHargue, and top eight 60+ women’s teams in B.C., will be split over two clubs in the Cowichan Valley, Cowichan Rocks in Lake Cowichan and the Glenn Harper Curling Centre in Duncan.

Team McHargue is comprised of Skip Ken McHargue, Third Gerry Kent, Second Brian LeMoel and lead Bill King.

The Invermere Curling Club hosted playdowns that saw Elkford’s Ken McHargue rink qualify and Castlegar/Trail/Nelson’s Bill vanYzerloo also qualify.


Article Share