Home » College of the Rockies Board elects new chair

Posted: October 30, 2019

College of the Rockies Board elects new chair

Fernie’s Randal Macnair will hold the position for a one-year term

The Board of Governors of College of the Rockies is pleased to announce the election of Randal Macnair as Board Chair.

“Randal is in his second year of serving on the College Board. His interest and passion for education, along with his understanding of the opportunities and challenges that lay ahead for us at the College, make him a natural fit for the Chair role,” said College President and CEO, David Walls. “I look forward to working with him in this new capacity.”

Macnair, publisher for Fernie-based Oolichan Books, was appointed by the province to the College Board in December 2017.

With a passion for public service, Macnair served 15 years as a member of City of Fernie council, including as mayor, and helped to establish the Fernie Community Fund, has served almost two decades with the Fernie Rotary Club, and is currently the Elk Valley Conservation Coordinator for Wildsight.

Macnair takes over the role of Chair from Jesse Nicholas, who was elected in 2017. Nicholas will continue on as a member of the Board.

Jesse Nicholas

“I would like to sincerely thank Jesse for his many contributions during his time as Board Chair and look forward to continuing to work with him as a Board member moving forward,” Macnair said.

Joining Macnair and Nicholas on the Board are previously appointed members Wilda Schab (Vice-Chair), Rod Giles, Darryl Hyde, Steen Jorgensen, Krys Sikora and Colhane Martyniuk (CUPE representative). Lainee Eccleston, a former college faculty member, was appointed to the Board in September 2019.

New faculty (CORFA) representative, Greg McCallum, and two student representatives, Reginald Goldsbury and Bradley Schmidt, will be sworn in at the November 7 board meeting.

Learn more about College of the Rockies’ Board of Governors at cotr.ca/board

College of the Rockies

Article Share