Desktop – Leaderboard

Home » East Kootenay is all BC Liberal

Posted: May 10, 2017

East Kootenay is all BC Liberal

British Columbia Premier Christy Clark’s BC Liberal Party has held onto power in the narrowest fashion following a nail-biting, dragged out 43 seat victory May 9.

With the BC NDP collecting 41 seats and the BC Green Party three seats, B.C. will have a minority or possibly a coalition government moving forward. At least one seat will have to go a judicial review recount it finished so closely and absentee votes are still being counted so it is still possible the BC Liberals can barely form a majority government (with 44 seats needed).

Locally, BC Liberal Party candidates Tom Shypitka (Kootenay East) and Doug Clovechok (Columbia River-Revelstoke) will be taking a united front to Victoria.

According to Elections BC preliminary results, Shypitka captured 56.64% of the vote (9,114), while BC NDP candidate Randal Macnair earned 29.7% (4,779). Green Party candidate Yvonne Prest received 11.27% of the vote (1,814), while Libertarian Keith Komar finished with 2.39% (385 votes).

Clovechok is the first BC Liberal Party MLA for Columbia River-Revelstoke since Wendy McMahon (2001-2005). He captured 45.75% of the vote (6,325), defeating District of Invermere Mayor Gerry Taft (BC NDP) who had 35.92% (4,966).

Green Party’s Samson Boyer captured 11.44% of the vote (1,582), while Libertarian Rylan Kashuba had 1.07% (148). Independent Justin Hooles captured 2.55% (353) and Independent Duncan MacLeod had 3.26% (450).

Final voting results will not be available until after the conclusion of final count, which will commence on May 22.

Premier Clark was this morning (May 10) asked to form government by Honourable Judith Guichon, Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia.

See full election results

– Ian Cobb/e-KNOW

Article Share