Desktop – Leaderboard

Home » Increased investment for resort municipalities

Posted: October 12, 2017

Increased investment for resort municipalities

Fernie Alpine Resort. Ian Cobb/e-KNOW

The province is investing $10.5 million for tourism infrastructure projects and programs in 14 resort communities, announced Lisa Beare, Minister for Tourism, Arts and Culture today.

“People who live and work in resort municipalities will benefit from improved infrastructure, increased private investment and a more diversified economy as a result of this boost to the Resort Municipality Initiative,” Beare said. “We’re committed to creating jobs and building a strong economy that works for everyone. Strengthening our tourism sector by supporting the Resort Municipality Initiative is one way we are delivering on that commitment.”

The 14 resort municipalities that participate in the Resort Municipality Initiative are: City of Kimberley, City of Fernie, District of Invermere, Village of Radium Hot Springs, Town of Golden, City of Revelstoke, Village of Harrison Hot Springs, Town of Osoyoos, City of Rossland, Sun Peaks Mountain Resort Municipality, District of Tofino, District of Ucluelet, Village of Valemount, Resort Municipality of Whistler.

Kimberley Alpine Resort

“Whether it’s going skiing in Sun Peaks, storm watching in Tofino, a summer get-away in Osoyoos or a hiking adventure in Valemount, resort municipalities provide year-round experiences that are unique to our province,” Beare said. “The Resort Municipality Initiative enriches the lives of British Columbians who live in resort municipalities, contributes to better experiences for tourists and it boosts local economies.”

In 2015, the tourism sector employed 127,000 British Columbians and paid $4.5 billion in wages and salaries.

Tourism supported nearly 19,000 tourism-related businesses in B.C. and contributed $7.4 billion toward the province’s GDP.

Lead image: Radium Hot Springs remains a leading tourism attraction in the region. e-KNOW file photo


Article Share